Year of Traveling

One year, ten states!

Looking back on the past year it has been crazy how lucky I was to be able to travel to so many places. While some may not be as exciting as others, they still count!

To start out, last spring break was able to go visit my best friend in New York. Kelsey goes to Marist College in Poughkeepsie (yes, I had to Google how to spell that). We spent some time hanging out in Poughkeepsie and then spent the weekend exploring New York City. With the help of Meg Schwartz we were able to stay the night at her place while she was out of town. Kelsey and I walked for miles trying to see as much as we could. My favorite thing to see was by far the 9/11 memorial. We spent hours walking through everything. It was truly eye opening to see the faces of those who were lost, the smashed firetrucks, the lonely pair of glasses someone lost, the notes of those who were stuck on floor 55, the list can go on. I had been wanting to see that memorial for awhile now, along with everything else New York has to offer. This trip was a start of a year I will never forget.

13495090_10208350122768283_8785512432334396371_n.jpg 13528693_10208350123288296_6773846758060778085_n.jpg13501602_10208350122288271_3289148779885947248_n.jpg 13450053_10208350122088266_5951310515599120128_n.jpg

Travel destination number two was Alaska! My grandparents so kindly took us on a cruise to Alaska to celebrate their 60th Anniversary…wow! Throughout the cruise we stopped in Juneau, Ketchikan, Skagway, and Victoria BC. At each stop we got off the boat and toured as much as we could in the time that we had. While on the boat we pretty much ate food and drank. We had two dress up nights which we spent celebrating the anniversary and my grandpas 80th birthday. The highlight of the trip for me was being able to spend time with family that I only get to see a couple times a year. I wish I could have seen more whales but I have found out that I am bad luck because everyone would see them when I was not around! I could go on and on about this trip but I have so much more to talk about!

IMG_5770.jpg IMG_5059.jpg

IMG_5001.jpg

Destination number three was South Carolina! I was very lucky to get the chance to go to Justin’s Basic Training Graduation. He was stationed at Fort Jackson where he spent his summer at a not so fun summer camp! Let me tell you…I could not stand the heat and humidity there for two days, I cannot imagine being there all summer. The first day we could not see him yet so we spent the day at the waterpark on the Fort. The next day was family day…aka best day ever! Finally after a big entrance and speeches we were able to go down and find him. It was honestly so weird haha. He had lost like 30lbs and you could tell he was so nervous to do anything wrong. We were not able to leave the Fort that day so we spent it roaming around, trying to stay in air conditioned areas (we spent a lot of time in the car because of the AC and John was sleeping). The next day was graduation and that same day he was able to go home. With some last minute flight changes I was able to meet up with him in Atlanta and fly the rest of the way home with him. It was a long and tough summer but I am so proud of him for how positive and strong he was the whole way through it.

IMG_5170.jpg IMG_5180.jpg

IMG_5169.jpg

Destination number four was Wyoming! Brigid had to go to Jackson Hole to shoot a wedding so I decided to go along for the ride and help her out (Go check out Brigid Bradshaw Photography). The wedding took place right outside of Grand Teton National Park. It was beautiful! We had great weather throughout the day with some light showers in the evening. I actually did not see Jackson Hole until the final morning because it was either dark or extremely foggy. I look forward to going back and spending more time there again. I would love to camp in the park in the future…maybe a summer bucket list idea?

IMG_5950 (1).jpg

Destination number five was Hawaii! My family was suppose to go to Cancun but with the Zika virus we rerouted the trip to Maui. This was a really fun trip. Although it rained every morning, it cleared off mid day and was beautiful. I would say that I had two favorite days. The first being the first day because we went to a beach that had huge waves. It was so fun to dive under them and come up on the other side. The second day was one of our last days that we spent on Big Beach. This was such a nice day and a great way to end the trip. We also spent time doing the road to Hana which was very cool. We did a muddy hike to a waterfall where I got eaten alive by mosquitos…that was not so fun. We finished the road to Hana pulled over watching the sunset and drinking some Maui beer.

IMG_6447.jpg

IMG_6439.jpg IMG_6559.jpg

Destination six…Florida! This spring break I was able to go Disney World and Universal Studios. While it was very busy, it was so fun to see all the different parks. There is so much to do there we did not have enough time to do it all. The first day we went to Magic Kingdom, second day to Animal Kingdom, third day to Hollywood Studios, fourth day to Universal Studios and last day at Epcot. I will admit my feet were in pain and legs hurt but it was well worth it. I would love to go back and experience more because we only skimmed the surface of things to do. My favorite park as Universal Studios because they had Harry Potter and the biggest roller coasters!

IMG_4515.JPGIMG_4606-1.JPG

Destinations seven, eight, nine and ten are not as exciting. Those would include Oregon, Washington, Idaho and Montana. I spend a lot of time going back and forth from Helena to home and by doing so I stay in Idaho and Washington a lot. Justin’s brother lives in Coeur d’Alene so we tend to stop there and see him for a break because it is about half way from Helena and Yakima. Justin’s family lives in Yakima so I usually go through Yakima when heading back to Portland to spend some time with them. I was able to go home for a week in May, 4th of July, Fall break, and Christmas break. I am looking forward to being able to go home for a little (or awhile) after graduation depending on where life takes me.

IMG_4462.jpgIMG_4683.jpg

IMG_6028.jpg IMG_6566.jpg IMG_4794.jpg

Those are the big events from my past year! I hope my traveling will continue more and I will get to see places that I never thought I would.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

